+Add to compare +Start comparing
Safarihub

Safarihub

Rating:
Types of adventures:
Jeeping Multi Trekking  +  walking Flight Safari Wildlife
Type: Operator
No of tours: 23
Destinations: 5

About company

Based out of London, Safarihub is an African safari specialist and tour operating company. They come with their expertise in organizing safari tours across various destinations in the African continent.  Their full range of services includes arranging and booking safaris, organizing mountain climbing expeditions, along with crafting beach holidays for their visitors to experience the natural beauty of the land. They also offer their travelers financial protection through ABTA (Association of British Travel Agents) membership and ATOL (Air Travel Organiser’s License) license. Safarihub also operates locally out of its offices in Arusha, Tanzania – East Africa’s safari capital.

Safarihub’s inspiration comes from its roots and cultural background which lies in Tanzania. They are committed to preserve and protect all that nature has provided them with, at the same time they want to share these natural treasures with the rest of the world.

As one of the leading experts in Africa, they know how to customize the safaris according to the tastes and preferences of the visitors. Safarihub combines luxury, style, service, and authenticity to provide a unique, exciting adventure and an unforgettable experience. Their itineraries are meticulously planned in a manner to reduce driving time and hence enhancing the experience for the traveler. They also provide 4x4 safari vehicles for comfortable journeys for their clients. Some of the destinations they cover are Kenya, Botswana, Ethiopia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Namibia, Tanzania, South Africa and many more. They have their safaris categorized into the following- camping safari, group safari, luxury safari, private safari, self-drive safari, and special sky safari. They also have gorilla trekking, mountain climbing, cultural and historical tours to bring their culture to the world. 

The company has offices in the cities
  • London, United Kingdom

Destinations

Flag of TanzaniaTanzania
No of tours: 8
Rating in Tanzania :
Types of adventures: Jeeping Multi Trekking  +  walking Safari
Flag of KenyaKenya
No of tours: 6
Rating in Kenya :
Types of adventures: Jeeping Flight Safari Wildlife
Flag of NamibiaNamibia
No of tours: 2
Rating in Namibia :
Types of adventures: Jeeping
Flag of South AfricaSouth Africa
No of tours: 4
Rating in South Africa :
Types of adventures: Safari Wildlife
Flag of SwazilandSwaziland
No of tours: 3
Rating in Swaziland :
Types of adventures: Safari

Company tours

$ 5348
Ultimate Tanzania & Zanzibar
Multi
Multi

Tanzania

Rating in Tanzania
$ 2203
Simba Safari
Jeeping
Jeeping

Tanzania

Rating in Tanzania
$ 3941
East Africa Explorer
Jeeping
Jeeping

Kenya

Rating in Kenya

Client's Reviews

Jude T
Well worth it!
Written: Feb 3, 2019 | Event date: January 2019 | Source: tripadvisor.com
My wife and I decided to visit East Africa’s safaris as part of our honeymoon trip. Having never been to this part of the world, we were naturally apprehensive about what to expect. We researched on various operators and were delighted to have found Safarihub. They were by far the most responsive, helpful and professional amongst those we contacted.

Our contact was Victoria who offered us many great tips in a very timely manner. She offered to assist us with making travel arrangements from Nairobi to Arusha even though it was technically not part of the Safari trip. As she was on leave when we arrived; her replacement, Vummy was equally helpful and up to speed to ensure that all our needs are taken care of. She met us at Arusha (start of the safari) and also at the airport (end of it), where we departed for Zanzibar.

We chose the 7 days ‘Wellworth it’ tour that covered Serengeti, Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara. The package is named after the Wellworth chain of luxurious lodges and camps. Each of the 3 accommodation we stayed was spectacular in their own rights and the service we received was unparalleled to anything we had experienced before. If there was anything to nit pick on, the food selection was not exactly inspired.

Our driver and safari guide, Aaron was equally excellent. He was reliable, knowledgeable and had the most uncanny of ability to spot animals from impossible angles. Besides the ‘big five’, thanks to Aaron we also spot some rare sightings such as the cheetahs, serval cats, black rhinos, and honey badgers. Not even a dung beetle escaped his eagle eye! We also appreciated how helpful Aaron was to fellow travellers in need. More than once he stopped to help others with broken tires, or offered water to other service staff. It genuinely left us with a ‘warm fuzzy feeing’.

We are sure that we could have found other operators who could offer lower prices, but as the name of the package suggest, we were glad to have paid every penny for this trip. We will not hesitate to use them for our next safari adventure!

Thank you Safarihub for making our virgin Safari trip such a perfect one!
More
jhh343
A Little More Expensive But Worth Every Penny
Written: Nov 6, 2018 | Event date: November 2018 | Source: tripadvisor.com
My Safarihub specialist was Victoria in Arusha, Tanzania and she was great! She really helped me work out every detail of my trip. She also helped me get hooked up with a great group and a great tour company for my Serengeti and Ngorongoro tour which made for an amazing experience. I probably could have saved some money if I had just gone through the tour company itself (Tanzania Experience), but in reality that company is not one that I came across when doing my research. Victoria was also sure to meet me after I returned from the tour to get feedback. I would highly recommend Safarihub!
More
Amnifathil
First class
Written: Jun 21, 2018 | Event date: June 2018 | Source: tripadvisor.com
As we were searching for the right operator, we had few conversations with different companies. Out of all, Safarihub was the best. Vummy has been arranging and communicating with us and accommodate all our needs. We couldn't thank her enough for her patience. The trip from the start to the end was amazing, jaw dropping experience. We were lucky to be accompanied by the kindest and most patient guide, Antony. Our accommodation was superb except for chalet in Mbalageti when the lights were suddenly off at 4.30am when we were getting ready to check out for balloon safari. But other than that, everything was perfect. It's a shame that we couldn't stay longer. The trip was so meaningful to us. We managed to see all the big 5 and so much more. Antony tried so hard and go extra mile to make sure all our dreams come true. We hope to come back again and meet everyone. I miss Serengeti already and I miss the calmness and peaceful of the place. God bless all of you at Safarihub!
More
Tripxau
A fantastic arranged safari and beach holiday
Written: Apr 14, 2018 | Event date: February 2018 | Source: tripadvisor.com
After at least a year planning and finally deciding to go with Safarihub and we did not regret it. Already from planning our contact Vummy, were very responsive to all of our questions and they were many.

We, a family of 5 (2 adults and children aged 7, 11 and 13) went for a safari with Safarihub combining Lake Manyara, Serengeti, Ngorongoro crater and finishing of in Zanzibar.

We flew into Kilimanjaro and were picked up by a Safarihub representitve who dropped us at our hotel in Arusha. After a good night sleep we met up with the Safarihub team (Vummy and our driver Antony), who went through the programme for our trip. Our guide/driver Antony was a calm man with many years knowledge and experience from safari.

Everything worked perfectly, our guide was always on time and had a plan for the day, and were flexible when our children were tired and wanted to go back.

It was a fantastic experience to stay in a tented lodge (Nasikia Camps, Naona Moru) and see the stars and experience the wilderness during night. The staff at Naona Moru was great and arranged a barbeque dinner and joined us for one night.

Our daughter left her stuffed animal at our first hotel, thanks to Vummy and the hotel she got it back. She took the time and picked up the animal from the hotel and brought it to us when we met her for the last day, we thought it was lost forever. I can not describe how happy our daughter was.
More
johnbI7843QU
Safarihub-first class
Written: Mar 26, 2018 | Event date: January 2018 | Source: tripadvisor.com
No I'm not related to anyone at Safarihub, nor get any kickbacks, but this trip was excellent. 18 days. Went to Uganda-mountain gorilla trekking (amazing - one male even touched me, big silverback 10 feet away, babies/mamas, too), Tanzania -4 parks (including Serengeti)- fantastic/ great guide(Aron)- lots of animals and varieties, up close, sometimes surrounded by thousands of wildebeest or Cape buffalo/zebras, 50 elephants completely around us. Saw Big Five by day 5-6....cheetah and leopard toughest, and not always seen. Zimbabwe/Zambia -for Victoria Falls (walked both sides and did helicopter ride), canoeing on the Zambezi (hippos and crocs)-fun, Botswana (Chobe-really good, especially boat ride on the river around the marsh-tons of animals, up close). Most all of it was just my wife and I in jeep with guide, so very personal. Went in Jan/Feb.,2018, for 18 days, not as crowded as I hear it can be at other times. Lodging and meals were top notch and way above expectations- 5 star everything. One truly tented camp night (Serengeti)- luxury- even with toilet and shower. Neither of us got sick. Bumpy dirt roads expected in game parks. Safarihub made flight arrangements for us between countries and pick-ups at airports/transfers went smooth-someone waiting for us always. Weight limit from Entebbe to Bwindi, 11 seater plane (Uganda mountain gorillas) 44lbs/pp (including weighed carry-on!) Charged $2/lb extra for overage ($200-300USD extra for us). Vummy, from Safarihub was excellent and provided personalized professional care to set this all up. This is a smaller safari company and we saw lots of different company jeeps out there, frequently with multiple people in them. I've been blessed to travel a lot- 100+ countries, 7 continents, 50 states (to give you some perspective)- this was very good. Wife said best part of our long vacation. If only have 7 or so days, would recommend Tanzania only, if you want to see animals. I found Safarihub online, looking at reviews-sounded good for most part, took a chance. Have recommended it to family/friends. Costs plenty, but worth it, especially if you want one good once in a lifetime experience.
More
AndreaR7946
Honeymoon in Tanzania
Written: Jan 25, 2018 | Event date: January 2018 | Source: tripadvisor.com
My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Tanzania with Safarihub.
We came back home with a lot of memories: first of all, everything were perfectly and accurately organized. Drivers, transfers, accommodations, everyone and everything was kind and reliable with us. Overall our Safari driver, who was overall a great and experienced driver but also he knews everything about the parks and the animals. As it should be, we’ve started our tour as a game drive (so you can or cannot see animals, it’s depends on a several factors) but our driver brought us through the parks always in the right position.
Sometimes We were listen at him, sometimes we were quiet when he told us, we were impressed by the fabulous African landscapes, we have seen a lot of animals that we cannot even immagine; at least, all the accommodations were great and clean and tidy. The staff was always at our disposal for any question, the food was lovely and delicious. We strongly recommend to visit Tanzania with Safari Hub.
More
193caroline
One week's amazing safari followed by 5 fabulous days in Zanzibar
Written: Dec 28, 2017 | Event date: October 2017 | Source: tripadvisor.com
I travel every year with friends, but this time I travelled on my own (for the first time!). I loved every minute and was looked after from my arrival at the airport to my final departure. Our chauffeur-guide was excellent - saw "the big five" (in close quarters!). The accommodation was varied (hotels, lodges and camps) and always excellent. Food very good and copious. The days I spent in Zanzibar were made to measure for me and worth every penny! I would recommend my holiday with Safarihub without reservation. Very very many thanks to Victoria who organised everything for me - advice, recommendations, information, flights, tours, hôtels, lodges, campsites etc. etc. I loved it so much I'm hoping to return next year to visit the lakes and other régions of Tanzania through SafariHub. Hope to be in contact with you soon Victoria, for next year!!
More
Nessmaron
Holiday ruined. Tanzania is wonderful, but avoid SafariHub at all costs!
Written: Dec 6, 2017 | Event date: September 2017 | Source: tripadvisor.com
We booked a 7 day safari with SafariHub and despite the hefty price tag, were bitterly disappointed. Despite us booking nearly a year in advance, SafariHub outsourced our safari to another (sub-standard) company without our knowledge or consent and we had an absolutely useless driver-guide who couldn't see anything that wasn't directly in front of him (in a rickety vehicle with charging points that didn't work); and now SafariHub aren't responding to us (or ABTA) so we are having to go through small claims court to get any compensation. Initially all seemed OK - Safarihub were responsive during the booking process and when we arrived in Tanzania a SafariHub vehicle collected us from the airport. However, on the first day of our safari we were confused to be collected by a guide in a Simba Safaris uniform and vehicle. This guide hadn't been vetted by SafariHub at all, was completely incompetent - his communication was poor, he wasn't able to spot any animals (and he had to get out of the vehicle multiple times to check the road. I'm sure he isn't a horrible person but it shouldn't have been down to me to spot all of the animals because our guide couldn't see a thing! A holiday we'd been looking forward to all year was completely ruined as we were so disappointed and stressed out by this. We couldn't talk to each other or relax in the vehicle as if we weren't constantly looking for animals ourselves, we would never have seen any wildlife at all. I adore Tanzania - this was a long-awaited return to a country I fell in love with 10 years ago when I was living/volunteering in Arusha; all of the national parks are stunningly beautiful and as a country I will always prefer it to Kenya. I'd highly recommend you go to Tanzania, but steer well clear of SafariHub. Thousands of pounds spent on broken promises will leave you miserable; it really tainted our whole trip. We did complain to SafariHub during the trip (though could only do this 4 days in as most of the places we stayed had no internet access) and initially thought they had taken our complaint seriously - they sent another driver - but were then disappointed to find it was another Simba Safaris driver in another sub-standard vehicle. The second guide was thankfully much better but it's so hard to put such a disappointing experience to the back of your mind and we can't help but wonder what we would have seen if we had a good guide throughout - we're not going to get the opportunity to be in the Serengeti back. And as soon as we returned from our trip, Safarihub stopped replying to any of our e-mails. I wanted to leave this review until resolved so I could be fair and give them credit for a positive response if they followed through their initial apologies with action, but unfortunately they aren't responding to us or ABTA so we are having to go through arbitration to get any compensation. Don't put yourself through this. Use another safari company who doesn't make false promises.
More
Safarihub responded to this review
Responded Jan 1, 2019
Find below a point by point analysis:

Safarihub is a registered tour operator in Tanzania, in order to qualify for a TALA license you require a minimum number of vehicles in your fleet. However since you booked one of our cheaper budget group safaris you were allocated a less superior vehicles from our sister company being a 2011 model Nissan Patrol with a pop up roof and all standard safari accessories. To date you are the first person to find this vehicle uncomfortable.

Guzzo your first guide is one of the most experienced tour guides in Arusha with a wealth of knowledge and experience, his vision is perfectly fine as all employees require a yearly eye check as per Tanzania law. In the Serengeti there is a speed limit and you can expect him to break the law. He mentioned that you wanted him to go off road to get closer to the animals, again this is not allowed in Tanzania national parks and as he claims this is when you became abusive towards him with,not nice at all! Anyway we than sent you another vehicle and driver for the remainder of the trip and again you complained that the driver could not spot animals for you, the national parks in Tanzania are huge and it sometimes takes a combined effort to spot the game, you cannot be fully dependent on the driver.

You are the first client we have come across that has been disappointed with everything on safari from not seeing a leopard to having a bumpy chair.

We do not appreciate the way you mistreated our hard working staff and especially asking them to break the rules in the national park for your pleasure. If you want to go for a luxury experience don't book a budget group Safari and expect wonders. We have a 5 star track record with ABTA and ATOL and we will keep it that way.
More
Justin R
SafariHub Safari and Archaeology 10 Day Expedition-INCREDIBLE!!
Written: Sep 20, 2017 | Event date: December 2016 | Source: tripadvisor.com
Whoever is reading this and researching a safari trip to Tanzania, I am going to make life very simple for you and give you the name of the best organization to tour with in Tanzania. Booking with them will be the safest, surest decision you make, and you will have a fantastic time. They are called SafariHub. SafariHub is without a doubt the finest tour organization I have ever had the privilege of vacationing with. I have travelled all of the world, to more than 50 countries, and have had tour operators and tour guides in many places; none compare to SafariHub. There outstanding service begins even before you book your trip. As you are probably doing now, I was scouring the internet in search of a good tour operator to take me and my family through Tanzania, which as the safari capital of Africa, we have always wanted to see. I reached out to multiple tour groups on SafariBookings, a website, to get information as well as price estimates for my family (there are 3 of us). SafariHub was the very first organization to respond. And not only were they the first organization to respond, the first email they sent me was well-written, well-articulated, and just very, very insightful for being just a single email. The individual at SafariHub who wrote that email was sales consultant Victoria. Victoria is a safari planning rock star! Hands down one of the most professional and diligent people I have ever spoken to. My family, unfortunately, has several complicating health factors which make traveling sometimes difficult. These factors were particularly daunting for a Trip to Tanzania. Without going into too much personal detail, I have an extremely serious tree nut allergy, to all types of nuts. Another family member suffers from vertigo, and is on blood thinners. Tanzania is known to use a fair amount of tree nuts in their cuisine (when I say fair, I mean less than Morocco, which uses almond oil in everything, but more than the likelihood of encountering nuts in a typical American restaurant). The member of our family who suffers from vertigo, had the potential to face difficulty in Tanzania because the roads are dirt and somewhat bouncy (not terribly bouncy, but definitely somewhat bouncy), enough to throw them into a vertigo attack. Simultaneously, malaria prophylaxis does not sit well with people on blood thinners, as was this member of our family. Finally, the other complicating factor to our trip was a 10 day time constraint to complete our itinerary. I am highly interested in archaeology. Tanzania is known as one of the most best archaeological sites in the world. In addition to wanting to go on safari, I particularly wanted to go to Tanzania to visit the archaeology sites, all of which are still active digs. Visiting the archaeological sites, is fairly off the beaten path. Most people who visit Tanzania do not see these sites. I highly, highly recommend them, and will write more of them later in this review. To go on safari and see the archaeological sites in 10 days is almost impossible to do logistically. It was important to me though to get to do both safari and archaeology. Victoria, the sales consultant at SafariHub, made all of this happen. She assuaged 100% of my fears about my tree nut allergy. She mitigated 100% of the issues surrounding the possible vertigo for our family member. She organized an itinerary that would allow for both safari and archaeology. This is how she did it…and I’m sure I’m not going to be able to capture even half of all the details.

First things first, Victoria helped us decide if we wanted to go on a pre-packaged group tour or an individual (private) tour. Given our health, itinerary, and time constraints it was decided in a very insightful conversation from Victoria, that a private tour probably made most sense. The group tours I’m sure are terrifically well-done by SafariHub, but given our constraints, private was the right option. A private tour is also not as expensive as you might think. I truly felt, that given all the safari companies I spoke with from SafariBookings and elsewhere, Safarihub was the one that offered the most customization, the most detail-attentive staff, and the fairest price (while still maintaining a comfortable luxury standard in room and board and food). All in all, SafariHub could not have done better in any way. The benefit of a private tour is that every aspect of the Tanzania experience can become customized (i.e. lodging, food, itinerary, rest stops from driving in the safari van, pace of driving in the safari van, routes taken while being driven in the safari van, and more one-on-one attentiveness from the tour guide/driver). Once we settled on a private tour, Victoria helped us decide the itinerary. Knowing the itinerary would allow SafariHub to find hotels that could accommodate my allergies, as well as plan driving routes that would be less bouncy (to prevent vertigo) and establish an efficient driving path to and from the archaeology sites, which were way off the beaten path away from the game reserves.

We knew we wanted to see Lake Manyara National Park, Ngorongoro Crater National Park, Tarangire National Park, Serengeti National Park, Oldupai Gorge (Olduvai Gorge), Laetoli, and Lake Natron (basically the Northern-Circuit reserves). It was concluded that Lake Natron, which is known for its red alkaline lakes and flamingos, would not be possible to attend and see everything else within the 10-day time constraint. Additionally, Lake Natron would have very bouncy driving to get there, which would have been tough on the vertigo. From there Victoria, working with another great sales consultant, named Vummy, and drivers Aaron (who would later be our guide), and Jonas collaborated to determining our drive route. I am trying to emphasize, SafariHub has a reliable team approach that is very apparent. Victoria called lots of hotels and spoke with kitchen staff personally at each of them to hear that food safety conditions could be met, before booking the hotel. There were some hotels Victoria passed-up on because they couldn’t guarantee food safety. She was very diligent, even utilizing a Swahili speaking-individual to translate on some occasions to the kitchen staff the requirements needed. She and SafariHub did a marvelous job, and upon completing the trip, I can say wholeheartedly, that the dining experiences at each hotel (as well as the packed lunches) were absolutely perfect.

Setting-up the archaeology tours were not easy either. As I understand it, my family and I are among some of the few people ever in the history of SafariHub’s lengthy existence, to ask to see Laetoli. Laetoli is an awesome archaeology site, and a must see for anyone with an interest in archaeology. Laetoli is the site where Mary Leaky in 1976 discovered fossilized Austrolopithecus afarensis footprints. The footprints are covered with stone for preservation purposes today. But, you can stand in front-of them, and know to a complete certainty that you are standing in the same place our ancestors from 3.7 million years ago stood. I would describe the sensation I felt there as awing as what I felt seeing The Colosseum, The Eifel Tower, and The Grand Canyon for the first time, combined! It’s super cool. But I’m fascinated by archaeology, so maybe I’m biased. The downside about Laetoli is it is really far off the beaten path. I mean you’re in the middle of nowhere’s nowhere. However, there is a very interesting museum on the hill above the footprints, that you visit after seeing them. Also we had an armed guard with us, in case of lions, for protection, and a terrific on-site anthropologist whose name I don’t recall. He was really informative, and showed us active archeological sites surrounding the footprints, including new footprint discoveries of other species, various fossilized flora and fauna from the time period, and famous dig sites. The fossils are so abundant there, they are literally sticking out of the ground. You don’t even feel bad picking them up and disturbing them because there are so many. Funny enough, we would run into the archaeologist guide again as a complete coincidence a few days later at Oldupai Gorge. Anyways, it was not easy for SafariHub to arrange a guided anthropologic tour through Laetoli, but they did it, and it was incredible. Oldupai Gorge, also spelled, Olduvai Gorge, was just about as equally awing and amazing. More people, not everyone, but more do see Oldupai, so there can be a small crowd. The reason it is more frequently visited is because it is near a resting point on the road to Serengeti National Park from Ngorongoro National Park. Oldupai Gorge is colloquially called “The Birthplace of Man”. So many species, our ancestors, have been discovered there. It’s a places outside of time, that’s the only way to describe it. There’s a small museum above it (overlooking it) that is pretty informative. We were also given a lecture by the managing Tanzanian archaeologist John. He did marvelously, and was actually Francis’s teacher. We were the only group of tourists that Joseph actually walked down into the gorge. The reason he did it was because Victoria arranged it. SafariHub went above and beyond in every regard. Walking through the gorge, like walking through Laetoli, was like walking through history. So many amazing fossil finds in that small area. It’s miraculous.

Furthermore, Victoria arranged all of our travel details. She had Justin, a SafariHub shuttle driver, pick us up at the airport when we arrived and drive us back at the end of the trip. Our trip was kind of last minute, which is also kind of funny since we had so many health and archaeology related details that needed attending to. One of our concerns was that as Americans we needed visas to get into the country. The Tanzanian Embassy in the US could not promise us we’d have our passports back in-time if we sent them there to receive visas. Victoria assured us, no matter what time our flight arrived in Kilimanjaro, the visa service would be open, and could give us a visa there. When we arrived, near midnight, the visa service was open, and all things went smoothly. Unfortunately though because we arrived late we couldn’t see Mt. Kilimanjaro, which we were right next to at the airport. On our way returning home, 10 days later we still couldn’t see Mt. Kilimanjaro because we had a late flight. If seeing the mountain is important to you, you must arrive/leave earlier in the day. Fair warning though, flights can get noticeably pricier arriving/leaving earlier in the day.

When we arrived in Arusha, which is about an hour drive from Kilimanjaro airport, we were taken to our hotel, The Arusha Hotel. It was about midnight. As I said, SafariHub had spoken with this hotel, and every other one about my food allergy. As a result, The Arusha Hotel kitchen staff, hotel manager, and many others stayed up to make us a special Tanzania welcome dinner in the event we were hungry. I have to admit, embarrassingly, we were too tired to eat then after a full day of travel and went to bed. But the consideration was astounding. The hotel, was very nice, with pretty grounds. There were nets covering the beds, as was to be expected, to prevent mosquitoes, while you sleep. The next morning, the kitchen staff served-up a literally amazing breakfast in the dining room, with Tanzanian style crepes, fresh squeezed juice (note* 100% of the hotels served fresh squeezed juice when checking in), and other items. From there, travel consultant Vummy introduced us to our driver, Aaron, and then did a review of the itinerary with us and reiterated the various health precautions that had been accounted for. Aaron then drove us to Lake Manyara National Park (about an hour and half drive). As we would see, throughout the next 10 days, Aaron was an absolutely fabulous tour guide with a great personality. It could be very easy for a tour guide to shuttle you around from place to place without much commentary. Aaron though was a total pro, and provided the perfect amount (not too little, not too much) of insight about everything we saw. He could not have done better. And he made all of the explanations about everything very interesting. He could identify every animal by name, as well as spot them from vast distances. He clued us into Tanzanian urban culture, as well as Maasai culture. He went out of his way to make sure we saw all the animals we wanted to see including the Big Five (leopard, black rhino, cape buffalo, elephant, and lion).

Lake Manyara is a good starting point for a safari. We saw zebras, giraffes, a lot of hippos, quite a few elephants, interesting looking pelicans, lots of flamingos, and a ton of baboons. Lake Manyara is teeming with animals, but the reason it is a good starting point for a safari is because it seems to have fewer animals than some of the other parks, namely Serengeti and Ngorongoro. Lake Manyara is kind of like an appetizer before the entre; you get a tasting, but the big stuff is coming. It’s also just a very naturally pretty lake and forest area. We had a box lunch above the lake (a chicken sandwich), and it was a beautiful view.

From there we drove to the edge of Karatu, an interesting village past the entrance to Ngorongoro Crater (the village isn’t actually in the crater though, but several miles before it). We stayed at The Acacia Farm Lodge that night. Definitely the best hotel experience on the trip, and that’s saying something! Given my food allergies, the entire hotel staff met with us when we arrived to tell us about the food safety preparations. The chef there, whose name I wish I remember, was just awesome. He made a special dinner for us, which was great. The hotel lobby has an amazing view of the hills surrounding it, and is spot to catch African Love Birds, which was cool. Anyways our dinner was especially prepared to sit out on this promenade. On top of that, the hotel provided us a butler service. I wish I remember his name also because he did terrifically. The staff didn’t have to be so over the top phenomenal to make us happy, but they went out of their way. And I highly recommend staying at this place. The following morning before we left, they prepared a special breakfast also, that I can honestly say was probably the nicest breakfast I’ve had in my life.

Additionally, Karatu and The Acacia Farm Lodge is one of the last places to have ready access to an American doctor on short notice, before continuing west. Our third family member, not the one with blood thinners, experienced an allergic reaction to the malaria medicine. Our tour guide Aaron knew just what to do. There is a medical clinic called FAME a few miles away. Aaron worked some magic and got us seen by the American doctor in less than an hour. The doctor fortunately recognized that the allergic reaction to the malaria medicine (Malarone) was not serious, and recommended that we could proceed with the tour. It was just terrific though that Aaron knew what to do in that situation. Nobody wants to travel to the other side of the world and have medical issues.

Ngorngoro Crater is phenomial. The view looking into it is one of the best views of natural beauty I have ever seen. It’s hard to believe that when you look down into the crater you are looking at 150,000+ animals because you’re so high up you can’t see them. But they are there! When we got down into the crater, Aaron spotted for us warthogs, thousands of wildebeests, a black rhino, jackals, lions, elephants, zebras, hippos, dozens of bird species, herds of cape buffalos. In Tanzania, there are so many birds that none of us had ever seen before or heard of, that I could now see myself really getting into bird watching. There are just so many exotic species with interesting colors and shapes.

That night we stayed at the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge high on the edge of the crater. The lodge was nice, not as nice as Acacia Farm Lodge (but I doubt any place could be), and was a very comfortable place. They entertained us there actually with a show, which was cool. And the best part was night. Deep in the crater it’s pitch black, and so the stars really shined. I’ve been in the abyss before in different parts of the world, but this was the best star gazing I had ever seen.

The next day we went to Laetoli. After we were done with Laetoli, we had to drive all the way back to Ngorongoro to then head to Serengeti. If you want to see Laetoli, which I recommend, it is a long driving day to get there and back, but it’s the only way to go. When we pulled into Serengeti Park, the first thing we saw were 2 male lions eating a zebra. Then we saw 4 female lions resting all bloodied. Then we saw 16 lions sitting on a bunch of rock kopjes. We then headed to the Kubu Kubu Tented Camp. Basically, affordable lodging options in the Serengeti are semi-tented semi-concrete, which Kubu Kubu was. Expensive options are not-tented, and also not in as ideal locations in the park. The park is huge, so the location of your lodge matters for what areas you are going to be able to see in a day. Kubu Kubu was terrific. The food and staff were amazing. The view from Kubu Kubu, in the main building, was one of the highlights for me in the Serengeti. I will say, at night, the camp can get a little noisy with lions roaring outside, so sleeping was light those days. We were there 3 nights. The other thing is, when walking from the dining building to your tented camp room at night, you have to be escorted by a Maasai guide for protection from animals. The camp, as well as other camps I’m sure, have encountered animals at night before, so the Maasai guide is required. Other than that, I would say be prepared to see some (not many) bugs in your room. You will appreciate the bed nets when staying out in the Serengeti.

The Serengeti was phenomenal.Crocodiles, cheetahs, leopards, ostriches, vultures, ibex and antelopes, lots of lions, and all of the other animals previously mentioned for the other parks, plus others. There is so much wild life in the park, you literally cannot go more than a couple minutes without seeing at least something. Aaron, our guide, was tremendous at spotting animals. He spotted a cheetah den from probably half a mile away, and got us right there. He made the experience all the better with his narrative on the animals, and knowing exactly what parts of the park to take us to, to see certain species.

After Serengeti, we headed for Tarangire National Park. On the way exiting the Serengeti we stopped at Oldupai Gorge. We stayed at the Tarangire Simba Lodge, which is a completely tented lodge camp. It was a nice set-up, also with a guard for walking at night. The food accommodations were terrific. Tarangire National Park is known for having lots of baobab trees, elephants, giraffes, and really tall termite hills. The park was great for all of those, as well as offering great scenery with nice streams. Tarangire is not the same as Serengeti, so if that is an expectation that will be, you should know going in that it is not. Serengeti and Ngorongoro really spoiled us. With that being said, it was still a great park to see as it offered unique elements, and was a very nice way to end off the trip.

From there we drove back to Arusha, and met Victoria in person. We thanked her and Aaron tremendously for the perfect job they did. The two of them made our safari/archaeology experience what it was. And it is a testament to SafariHub for employing two people who are absolutely so great at their jobs. In conclusion, book your trip with SafariHub. They offer tours all over the continent. I am sure each one of them is done extremely well. If I do another safari tour in the future SafariHub will be my first call.
More
robertj246
Amazing trip!
Written: Aug 30, 2017 | Event date: June 2017 | Source: tripadvisor.com
Had a great week in Serengeti! We saw the migration and loads of animals, enjoyed everyday there. A big thank you to Victoria who helped us a lot to arrange this trip and she's really kind and thoughtful. Our guide - Antony, did a great job too. The only thing can be improved would be the guide's English skills, sometimes he seems not quite understand our questions, but that's not a big issue at all. We will definitely recommend Safarihub and hope we can do it again sometime.
More

Leave your review: