Rating in Tanzania
$ 3619

Tanzania Cycle Safari

Cycling
Cycling
min $ 3619
Per person
Tour details
Destinations: Arusha
Guide language: English
Price: min $ 3619
Click to Enlarge
  • At a glance
  • Itinerary
  • What's included
  • Dates & prices

At a glance

Your chance to
Explore peerless wildlife parks
At a glance
10 nights full-service camping and 2 nights hotel Campsites vary in services The hotel in Arusha is comfortable with en suite facilities
An exhilerating cycling and wildlife safari
For centuries people have explored the lakes and plains of East Africa on two feet. We explore this incredible region on two wheels. Starting from Arusha we cycle out across banana and coffee plantations before entering the Great Rift Valley and the grasslands where Masai cattle graze. After spending time at a homestead we swap our bikes for 4WDs and go on safari in the Ngorongoro Crater and the Serengeti. The final days of mountain biking are hugely rewarding as we ride to Lake Natron and the awe-inspiring active volcano Ol Doinyo Lengai, passing only Masai with their cattle and the wildlife they live alongside.
Cycling profile
Daily distance in km/miles:

Day 2 50.0km/31.1miles
Day 3 70.0km/43.5miles
Day 4 25.0km/15.5miles
Day 5 50.0km/31.1miles
Day 9 45.0km/28.0miles
Day 10 75.0km/46.6miles


Number of days cycling:
5
Pace:
Moderate: 13-16km/8-10miles an hour
Terrain:
Low altitude; 90% dirt road/tracks, 10% tarmac

Itinerary

Itinerary
1
Day 1
Start Arusha.

2
Day 2
Cycle west across the Monduli mountain range, dropping down to Mezerani.

3
Day 3
Cycling towards the Rift Valley and Selelai.

4
Day 4
Rift Valley Wall hike; visit to Masai homestead.

5
Day 5
Cycle to Mto Wa Mbu.

6
Day 6
Ngorongoro Crater game drive; camp on crater rim.

7
Day 7
Full day in the Serengeti, enjoying the wildlife.

8
Day 8
Full day wildlife viewing; camp at Lobo.

9
Day 9
Cycle down the eastern edge of the park through Masai villages.

10
Day 10
Spectacular ride down to Lake Natron and Ol Doinyo Lengai.

11
Day 11
Free day for relaxation.

12
Day 12
Transfer to Arusha.

13
Day 13
Free day in Arusha to explore the city; end Arusha

Guided Group
This is a small group guided holiday. The group is usually between 4 and 16 in size, with an average of 12 like-minded clients booking individually, in a couple or as friends together.
Activity level
You are moderately fit and have an interest in remote or challenging environments. Some previous experience is required for activity based trips.

What's included

What's included
All breakfasts, 11 lunches, 12 dinners
What's not included
Travel insurance

Dates & prices

These are ‘land only’ prices which require you to book your own flights and join the rest of the group on Day 1 of the trip. For more information please see Trip Notes

Date Price excl. flights (pp) from
Sun 13 Nov 16 - Fri 25 Nov 16

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,175
Sun 18 Dec 16 - Fri 30 Dec 16

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,175
Sun 12 Feb 17 - Fri 24 Feb 17

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,645
Sun 20 Aug 17 - Fri 01 Sep 17

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,645
Sun 19 Nov 17 - Fri 01 Dec 17

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,645
Sun 17 Dec 17 - Fri 29 Dec 17

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,645
Sun 11 Feb 18 - Fri 23 Feb 18

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,775
Sun 12 Aug 18 - Fri 24 Aug 18

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,775
Sun 11 Nov 18 - Fri 23 Nov 18

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,775
Sun 23 Dec 18 - Fri 04 Jan 19

 

Price excl. flights (pp) from EUR €3,775
All tour descriptions and conditions are given in accordance with the information of Exodus
You may also like
$ 1898
Cycle Kilimanjaro
Cycling
Cycling

Tanzania

Rating in Tanzania
$ 585
Zanzibar Retreat ~ Bluebay Beach Resort
Universal
Universal

Tanzania

Rating in Tanzania
×